MCM – Passed the 88-971 Lab Exam!!!

No fail-sauce for breakfast on Friday November 22nd for this kid!  I passed, I wasn’t sure I did, but its true.  boB Taylor posted about me on the master blog today and I’m very pleased.  I will be coming back to this blog and adding some items that I’ve meant to for a while but haven’t gotten around to…

I wanted to say thank you to a small group of individuals who have helped to encourage and motivate me.

My co-worker Jaison Eckert covered for me on many a study session and the exams I took.  He also encouraged me not to give up.  He’s a great DBA and a good friend.  I think if we weren’t a good tag-team at work, the story could be different.

Edwin Sarmiento is someone I met while at sqlskills IE1 training course.  We’ve studied together and encouraged each other to keep at it (even when it looked bad).  I’m hoping we’ll get to see his name added to the list soon.

Sean Gallardy is another individual I met at the same IE1 training course as Edwin.  He achieved his MCM earlier this year, and is another one who encouraged me to keep at it.

If I hadn’t had these three guys encouraging me && such a supportive family at home, I probably wouldn’t have made it.  My wife and two daughters both let me put many a plan && || Barbie movie on hold to open up the VM and run through some practice labs and TSQL code one more time preparing.

I mentioned the IE1 && IE2 training courses.  I wanted to give a quick thank you for the exceptional training and energy to the sqlskills team.  Paul Randal, Kimberly Tripp, Jonathan Kehayias && Joe Sack all are wonderful presenters and have very solid tuning techniques at the sessions.  They are also good at getting you excited about the technical bits of SQL Server.  I credit them with getting me together with the right people to get motivated to do this.

Paul had encouraged me to blog about my powershell script that grants database rights, so now that I’m able to slow down I’ll probably update it and post it.

We had steak and a decent cabernet to celebrate when I got the email from boB last Saturday.  I’m still asking my wife to pinch me and wake me up…

This entry was posted in SQLMCM, SQLServer, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MCM – Passed the 88-971 Lab Exam!!!

  1. Congrats Ryan! I knew you could do it 🙂

Leave a Reply

